Noel
Sun Aug 01 01:56:42 CDT 2004
Common sense is your best friend!
FWIW, the most important thing to remember is that reputable companies NEVER
send patches out unasked - and most never send them at all (instead
requiring you to download them from a known, secure, website).
Unasked-for links to new programs are probably spam - and should be ignored
at least, and potentially reported to the originating ISP for abuse if
appropriate.
If in doubt, then feel free to ask, either here, or the originating company.
There's a lot of really nasty stuff out there, and as a general rule, if
you're not sure about something - don't install it!
--
Noel Paton (MS-MVP 2002-2004, Win9x)
Nil Carborundum Illegitemi
http://www.btinternet.com/~winnoel/millsrpch.htm
http://tinyurl.com/6oztj
Please read
http://dts-l.org/goodpost.htm on how to post messages to NG's
"Ben Stevenson" <casiopie963@hotmail.com> wrote in message
news:OU9jbN5dEHA.1656@TK2MSFTNGP09.phx.gbl...
> What about it in future? How do I go about identifying false attempts?
>
> "Noel Paton" <NoelDPspamless@btopenworld.com> wrote in message
> news:ObIJbhudEHA.1604@TK2MSFTNGP11.phx.gbl...
> > Sounds like a sensible plan to me.
> >
> > Good Luck
> >
> > --
> > Noel Paton (MS-MVP 2002-2004, Win9x)
> >
> > Nil Carborundum Illegitemi
> >
http://www.btinternet.com/~winnoel/millsrpch.htm
> >
http://tinyurl.com/6oztj
> >
> > Please read
http://dts-l.org/goodpost.htm on how to post messages to
NG's
> >
> > "Ben Stevenson" <casiopie963@hotmail.com> wrote in message
> > news:OqBTcbudEHA.2752@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl...
> > > Thanks. I won't install it.
> > >
> > > "Noel Paton" <NoelDPspamless@btopenworld.com> wrote in message
> > > news:e1yePptdEHA.3632@TK2MSFTNGP11.phx.gbl...
> > > > oh - and looking at their website doesn't fill me with warm feelings
> > about
> > > > the effectiveness of the software they're peddling, either.
> > > >
> > > > --
> > > > Noel Paton (MS-MVP 2002-2004, Win9x)
> > > >
> > > > Nil Carborundum Illegitemi
> > > >
http://www.btinternet.com/~winnoel/millsrpch.htm
> > > >
http://tinyurl.com/6oztj
> > > >
> > > > Please read
http://dts-l.org/goodpost.htm on how to post messages to
> > NG's
> > > >
> > > > "Ben Stevenson" <casiopie963@hotmail.com> wrote in message
> > > > news:%238qauXtdEHA.3512@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl...
> > > > > I have received :
> > > > > From: Ascentive Updates
> > > > > Subject : Ascentive News and activeSpeed Update
> > > > >
> > > > > telling me to install the update, and if I don't have the original
I
> > can
> > > > > install it too. Both the above are free. I don't recall having
> install
> > > > this
> > > > > software before. How would I know if it is a fake or a
virus/hacker
> > > > attempt?
> > > > > How does one go about identifying if such attempts are genuinine
in
> > > > future?
> > > > > TIA
> > > > >
> > > > >
> > > > >
> > > >
> > > >
> > >
> > >
> >
> >
>
>