J
Tue Dec 27 20:30:45 CST 2005
On Tue, 27 Dec 2005 20:13:12 -0600, "Vanguard"
<vanguard.code@comcastNIX.net> wrote:
>"J. Eric Durbin" <zyzygy@plenipotentiary.com.invalid> wrote in message
>news:5sk3r19rg822j6e2sf6kdm9jmg2ka3o5er@4ax.com...
>> After the OEM XP x64 disk I had originally purchased from Directron
>> was damaged during a reinstall (due to my own carelessness), I needed
>> to purchase a new license. I found an "OEM" disk listed at
>> 9software.com in Hampton, VA for $119.00.
>>
>> I received the disk today, but the disk is labeled:
>>
>> "Microsoft Windows XP Professional x64 Edition (Volume License Product
>> Key Required).
>
>
>Report the theft to:
>
>piracy@microsoft.com
>
>Blue Moon Internet Services
>(
http://www.dnsstuff.com/tools/whois.ch?ip=!NET-66-216-78-160-1&server=whois.arin.net),
>the owner of the IP address for 9software.com.
>
>rackspace.com, the upstream provider for 9software.com according to a
>traceroute.
>
>The Office of the State Attorney in Hampton, VA, where the registrant
>claimed was their postal location per
>
http://www.dnsstuff.com/tools/whois.ch?ip=9software.com&cache=off. And to
>domaininfo.com, the registrar for that domain.
>
>Check the Received headers of any e-mails that they sent to you, like the
>order confirmation, to find out who they used for their e-mail provider, and
>complain there.
>
>Complain to volusion.com
>(
http://www.dnsstuff.com/tools/whois.ch?ip=volusion.com), the domain that
>provides the DNS server for 9software.com according a dig on that domain
>name.
Thanks to you and Charlie.
I have emailed the information to piracy@microsoft.com. I am going to
wait to hear what they have to say before involving the others you
mentioned. If Microsoft confirms they are going after the vendor, I
will contact the others as well as pricewatch.com.
-jd